Non-exec references

Pioneering renewable energy for business and communities & more

Non-executive roles

To help the clean energy sector develop, Philip Wolfe serves in a non-executive capacity in several companies and organisations

British Renewable Energy Award being presented by REA Chairman Mark Candlish, Deputy Director Gaynor Hartnell and Public Affairs Director Leonie Greene

Links to related sites:

Current non-executive positions, and links to the relevant organisations, are given here.

Existing and past non-executive and advisory roles are summarised below:




2016 - date

Solnet Energy

Non-Executive Director

2015 - date

Cuckmere Community Solar

Non-Executive Director

2013 - date

Communities for Renewables

Non-Executive Director

2009 - date

Climate Bonds Initiative

Member of advisory panel

2006 - date

Renewable Energy Assurance Ltd (REAL)

Founder; Non-Executive Director; Supervisory Panel member

2011 - 2017

Westmill Solar Co-operative

Non-Executive Chairman

2015 - 2017

Department of Energy and Climate Change

Deputy Chair Community Energy Taskforce

2014 - 2017

Community Energy England (CEE)

Non-Executive Chairman

2014 - 2017

Earthworm Energy Plc

Non-Executive Chairman

2013 - 2014

Department of Energy & Climate Change (DECC)

PV Strategy development groups - 'land use' and 'engagement'

2009 - 2012

Ownergy Plc (and subsidiaries)

Founder; Chairman; Director

2009 - 2012

2012 - date

Aldersgate Group

Non-Executive Director

Individual member

2001 - 2011

Renewable Energy Association (REA)

Founder member & Director; Director General 2003-09; otherwise Non-Exec

2009 - 2010

Energy Saving Trust

Microgeneration Advisory Board member

2008 - 2009

UK Green Building Council

Zero Carbon Buildings committee

2007 - 2009

Nanotechnology K T N

Nano4Energy steering committee

2006 - 2010

UK Energy Research Centre (UKERC)

Advisory Board member


Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC)

Renewable Energy Tariffs advisory group member


British Standards Institute (BSI)

Committee RHE/025 (solar thermal)

2008 - 2009

English Partnerships (now HCA) Carbon Challenge

Member of Sounding Board

2007 - 2009

British Renewable Energy Awards

Founder; Chairman of the Judges

2007 - 2009

Microgeneration Certification Scheme

Member of supervisory steering group

2006 - 2008

Utility Awards

Member of judging panel

2003 - 2006

Department of Trade and Industry (DTI, now DECC)

New and Renewable Energy Programme proposal assessor

2002 - 2004

Integration of New and Renewable Energy in Buildings (INREB)

Faraday Partnership industrial steering committee


Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

Member of College of Assessors

1999 - 2002

British Standards Institute (BSI)

Committee GEL/82 (solar photovoltaics)

1998 - 2001

Centre for Renewable Energy Science & Technology (CREST) Loughborough Uni

Advisory Group Member

1991 - 1992

UK Photovoltaic Industry Association

Founder Director

1980 - 1985

European Photovoltaic Industry Association (EPIA)

Founder Director; President 1982-3


European Commission Science & Technology Directorate (then DGXII)

R&D proposals assessment committee

1979 - 1983

Electrical Technology Committee (DTI, now DECC and BIS)

R&D proposals assessment committee

Dates shown in italics are approximate.